× Close
× Close
× Close
× Close
× Close
× Close
× Close
× Close
× Close

Striving for Excellence

A program of the South Carolina Foster Parent Association. It was designed to recognize students within resource families who have identified and are pursuing goals that will ensure a successful transition into adulthood.

Web design company
 

March 2018

Catherine Crouch, Recipient

My name is Catherine Crouch I am 21 years old and working toward a degree in Criminal Justice and Phlebotomy. I also plan on doing medical billing and coding. Other than working out occasionally, my only hobbies are achieving my goals in life. My biggest accomplishment in life so far was actually taking initiative and starting college like I had planned on doing. My goals are to prove that even if you have had a hard life it doesn’t mean you can’t be successful in life. Don’t let your past control your future.

February 2018

Danny Spivey , Recipient

Danny Spivey is a freshman at Limestone College. He is majoring in Computer Science. Danny loves playing video games and describes himself as a sports fanatic! Danny is the first person in his family to graduate high school and the first to attend college. Way to go, Danny!

September 2017

Deandre Ellis, Recipient

My name is Deandre Ellis. I am currently 19 years of age. My favorite activities are playing basketball and football. I was born and raised in Pickens until I went into foster care. I then went to a small group home in Salem, South Carolina, called Tamassee DAR School. I attended Tamassee Salem Middle and High and was in the last graduating class of the school in 2016. I am currently enrolled in Tri-County Technical College majoring in Criminal Justice.

February 2017

Oksanna Oliver, Recipient

Hello my name is Oksanna Oliver and I appreciate all the SACKs I have received and I thank everyone who helps. I'm 18 years old and I attend O.C Tech College. I am working towards becoming a Registered Nurse. I love going to school. My goal is to work in one of the best hospitals in the world. My biggest accomplishment was graduating from high school and starting college.

January 2017

Marquis Edwards, Recipient

Hello my name is Marquis Edwards and I am currently attending Spartanburg Community College. I am thinking of transferring to Clemson after my two years at SCC and majoring in Computer Technology. I used to run track as a freshman in high school, then I stopped and picked it back up my senior year. I have been awarded 1 plaque, two certificates, and a letter for a Letterman Jacket. I wish to go to a four-year college after I finish with the two year and then become a firefighter and if that does not work out, I would like to be a video game tester. I like to play sports. I want to do YouTube in the near future because I think it would be good for me and I like to write poetry, and write stories in my spare time.

November 2016

Heather Wennersten, Recipient

I am a full time student at Charleston Southern University. I am a freshman nursing student. Currently my GPA is at a 3.3. My grades consist of A's and B's. My goal is to get my GPA to a 3.5, also to keep it above a 3.0 to obtain the life scholarship. Since I've enrolled in college my free time consists of studying, eating popcorn and watching Netflix if I have the chance! I cannot thank DSS enough for all the help they've provided and continue to provide.

October 2016

Scarlett Allison Celeste Miller, Recipient

My name is Scarlett Allison Celeste Miller, I have four siblings, one in college two in high school and one in elementary. I attend Spartanburg Methodist college I'm majoring in business and plan to continue onto the university of South Carolina upstate for a four-year college education. I enjoy doing hair and makeup, hanging out with friends and enjoy being a part of the SMC troubadours. My goal in life is to continue to break through as many barriers in my life as possible. Some of my previous achievements in life would have to be being adopted by my wonderful parents and walking across the stage in my cap and gown and receiving my diploma. I plan to make an example for all foster kids who doubt themselves or feel self-conscious about who they are. We are a special kind of human being, ones who can never be broken.

September 2016

Elizabeth Marie King, Recipient

My name is Elizabeth Marie King. I attend college at Francis Marion University in South Carolina. My major is psychology. My hobbies are listening and writing music. I also enjoy writing journal entries and poetry. My goals are graduating college with my bachelors and going on to pursue my masters in psychology. I want to travel up north to become a therapist.

October 2015

Y’Terrani Davis, Recipient

Y'Terrani attends Winthrop University in Rock Hill, SC. She is majoring in Biology, and is a member of the WU Crew, a student-led organization promoting support and school spirit for all Winthrop athletic events. Y'Terrani was the recipient of a $1,000 scholarship awarded by the SCFPA at the 2015 SCFPA Annual Training Conference.

February 2015

Danesha Aiken-Stocker, Recipient

Hi my name is Danesha Aiken-Stocker. I am 21 years old and currently a student at Orangeburg Technical College. I am currently preparing for the Registered Nursing Program as I plan on being a psychiatric-mental health nurse. I never thought about becoming a nurse until my senior year in high school. Foster care has opened many doors for me and also has shown me everything doesn’t have to be as bad as it seems. I've always loved to help people. My hobbies are shopping, watching TV, and playing with my dog, Peanut. I try to remember, If God can bring you to it; He can get you through it!.

October 2014

Justin Abassi, Recipient

Justin Abassi is a freshman at Yale University where he received a full scholarship. He is working as a research intern at the Yale Medical University. Justin currently is maintaining an "A" average while studying courses leading to a degree in Chemical Engineering. Justin was also selected as a member of the Yale Mock Trial team where he was given roles of both attorney and witness. Justin is involved in local community service projects in New Haven, CT, and is also working to begin an outreach program for foster children in the local area.

September 2014

Mary Azhan'e Holly, Recipient

Mary Azhan'e Holly is a freshman at Claflin College. During her younger years, Mary never thought about attending college or even her future until her sophomore year in high school. She was always smart in school and loved reading as a child. During her sophomore year, her guidance counselor and teachers began to really talk about college and setting goals to be successful in this world. With guidance from the adults in her life, Mary realized how much she liked learning how the human body works and decided to major in Biology. She enjoys talking, texting, reading, writing, shopping, and spending time with friends.

Web design company
Web Design by TrueZeal.com